Just a little outside of Toronto…

Scarborough is an area I’ve been to maybe once or twice. Myself and my wife have been to the golf club for a Christmas party in 2016 in the night time only accessing the area by motorway. When I met Kathleen first I had heard that she lived and commuted from Scarborough. I know maybe one other friend that lives in this area. Both of them are very enthusiastic about the trail path called the “Waterfront Trail”. I believe that this trail is divided into three sections East being Scarborough, Toronto being Central and Etobicoke being West. You can enjoy the scenery of Rouge Beach, Rouge Bridge and views of the lake and Toronto.

Here are come connections for the trail paths stretching across from East to West:

Unfortunately for me I had a flat tire just after I cycled from Kingston Road. I spent as much time as I could in the sun at Rouge Hill taking photographs for Kathleen’s portrait. I will return and enjoy more of the trail again. The lookout post is definitely a picnic friendly area!

IMG_20170428_145618311

At Rouge Hill GO Station with my flat tire…

Queen Street Bridge was Steve’s location. Recently I posted about Shellie’s choice of the Humber Bay Arch Bridge – a meeting point that is used for catching up with her husband Steve when they have cycling excursions. Also known as the Queen Street Viaduct, the bridge is one of the few steel Truss bridges in the city. I’d no idea what this meant, so when I read about it I decided to quote Wikipedia as it best explains what kind of bridge this one is:

“A truss bridge is a bridge whose load-bearing superstructure is composed of a truss, a structure of connected elements usually forming triangular units. The connected elements (typically straight) may be stressed from tension, compression, or sometimes both in response to dynamic loads. Truss bridges are one of the oldest types of modern bridges.”

Eldon Garnett created the artwork of the clock and quote on the bridge – “this river I step in is not the river I stand in.” (Heraclitus, philosopher). This is part of a three site art piece, I plan to visit the remaining sites. I understand that the clock no longer works, in 2010 the mechanism and hands were removed.

IMG_20170503_155231446

Queen Street Bridge

As you can see there are four lanes of traffic, there is never a dull moment on this bridge! I tried many times to stand in the middle of the road to take a photo in the late afternoon of a Wednesday a few weeks ago. I think only once could I get into the middle and take some photos. Taxis honking, TTC streetcars advancing…. and a few pedestrians that gave me very strange looks as I dared to stand still and adjust my lens!

Leave a Reply

