Many kilometres later….

I can share with you some images taken on my phone from the last few meetups with my Double Exposure participants. The marvelous sights I’ve seen as a recent immigrant to Toronto….I am delighted! I am very grateful for the time given to the preparation of the book – such generous and passionate cyclists have I met 🙂

Brian and I cycled from Etobicoke to his location of Riverside Cemetery & Cremation Centre for his photograph. He captured me in my cycling gear layering the remaining location photography on top of his portrait. I must admit that shooting in overcast weather has been most effective. The sun can cause funky flares on my lens that I may not notice until after processing.

imagePhotograph by Brian Neary

Closeby to Brian (well, almost….on my way to Etobicoke) I passed what was to be Shelley’s location – Humber Bay Arch Bridge at the mouth of the Humber river. This site is a decent 30min cycle from Downtown Toronto. Using the Martin Goodman trail (pedestrian and cyclist friendly) makes it a very easy journey. There are lots of opportunities to stop, park your bike and enjoy the view of the lake. When you get to the bridge you go up a slight hill and then are suddenly in view of the stunning white supports that frame this bridge. There are some quirky features too – see the images below. What adorable sculpted characters that are embedded into the bridge side! There are carved symbols marking the native heritage of what was the “Toronto Carrying Place” trail. I had no idea about the meaning of the bridge at all before arriving here. The trail is an ancient aboriginal trading route leading north.

IMG_20170503_143718334

Geometric patterns that line the curve of the bridge – Designed in 1994 by Montgomery Sisam Architects of Toronto and Delcan Corporation (thanks Wikipedia!).

IMG_20170503_143613563.jpg

View from the path just under the bridge at the mouth of the river.

Just off of Dundas Street East near Yonge Street it Victoria Street Lane where there is a vibrant bicycle mural. This is where I shot the location photographs for Ali. The first time I visited it there had been an added artwork of Donald Trump! Fortunately, the Trump remark/image had been cleared away in time for Ali’s photographs. If you are a Ryerson student you may be familiar with the mural as it’s a very good shortcut to the library and Ryerson Image Centre. I think the mural is around 10 years old, it’s looking great for its age. Ali’s portrait was taken only about 100m from this location. He organizes a group bicycle ride on the last Friday of every month (starting in April), this is when I photographed him and joined his group.

IMG_20170430_112913357_HDR.jpg

Leave a Reply

